How can a young man keep his way pure?
By keeping it according to Your word.
With all my heart I have sought You;
Do not let me wander from Your commandments.
Your word I have treasured in my heart,
That I may not sin against You.

— Psalm 119: 9-11 (NASB)

Christ prayed, “Sanctify them in the truth; Your word is truth.” These are simple words, yet utterly profound words which take us into the very heart of our Savior who understood that the only means of sanctification (of growth in the Christian life) was by the Word–the revealed, God-breathed book of God (see 2 Tim. 3:16).

Today is Palm Sunday, the day in which Jesus entered Jerusalem with the feigned worship of “Hosanna! Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord, even the King of Israel” (Jn. 12:13). May we not be like so many of those gathered that day, worshiping externally yet with empty hearts in the inside.

Seeing all that our Savior gave for us should overwhelm our hearts with gratitude and praise, desiring to live our lives for Him and Him alone. How do we do that? It’s simple: get in the Word. And allow that to be used by His Spirit in order to grow. Now the question is, do you want to grow? Or are you content in being a babe, being tossed here and there, not knowing what you believe? Or do you want to have a life full of discernment, delighting in knowing Your God more and more.

I came across an article I wrote last year which I think is suitable . . . Longing for the Word.

