Applying the Gospel to all of Life

Anxiety.

 

https://i0.wp.com/www.lifedynamix.com/articles/files/iStockAnxietyB.jpg

Psa 127:1 A Song of Ascents. Of Solomon. Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.

Psa 127:2 It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

Psa 127:3 Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward.

Psa 127:4 Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth.

Psa 127:5 Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

I can sleep cause of your hand. You will fill my quiver. A rich legacy. Be kicking yourself for being so anxious when there is no reason to. Anxiety reveals lack of trust in God and possibly great selfish ambition. So the life lived always anxiously is a vain life. The wise know they can rest in the grace of God, unmerited by their own shortcomings. Christ has earned it all. Submit humbly to him.

Isa 35:1 The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad; the desert shall rejoice and blossom like the crocus;

Isa 35:2 it shall blossom abundantly and rejoice with joy and singing. The glory of Lebanon shall be given to it, the majesty of Carmel and Sharon. They shall see the glory of the LORD, the majesty of our God.

Isa 35:3 Strengthen the weak hands, and make firm the feeble knees.

Isa 35:4 Say to those who have an anxious heart, “Be strong; fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God. He will come and save you.”

Isa 35:5 Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf unstopped;

Isa 35:6 then shall the lame man leap like a deer, and the tongue of the mute sing for joy. For waters break forth in the wilderness, and streams in the desert;

Isa 35:7 the burning sand shall become a pool, and the thirsty ground springs of water; in the haunt of jackals, where they lie down, the grass shall become reeds and rushes.

Isa 35:8 And a highway shall be there, and it shall be called the Way of Holiness; the unclean shall not pass over it. It shall belong to those who walk on the way; even if they are fools, they shall not go astray.

I am a fool. I will not go astray. Hallelujah for tough guardrails. My heart may feel dry, but you will make it blossom. When I look upon your glory, my own attempts melt to nothing.

Jer 17:7 “Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose trust is the LORD.

Jer 17:8 He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

Jer 17:9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?

Jer 17:10 “I the LORD search the heart and test the mind, to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.”

You know my heart, you know it’s shortcomings, it’s blatant sin. And yet I am forgiven through the person and work of Christ. You have planted me firmly, I am built on the rock. No drought can scare me.

Mat 6:24 “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

Mat 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?

Mat 6:26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

As I serve you only, as my master, I need fear nothing, I need not be anxious about anything. I can humbly walk in peace. Anxiety characterizes those who are living for self. Test my heart, give me peace in you.

you will be dragged before governors and kings for my sake, to bear witness before them and the Gentiles.

Mat 10:19 When they deliver you over, do not be anxious how you are to speak or what you are to say, for what you are to say will be given to you in that hour.

Mat 10:20 For it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.

Mat 10:21 Brother will deliver brother over to death, and the father his child, and children will rise against parents and have them put to death,

Mat 10:22 and you will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But the one who endures to the end will be saved.

By the power of your Spirit, I will endure to the end. Not by any personal resolve, but by the Spirit that is in me. It is in my new character in Christ, in the Spirit, that I am being made more like him. By your grace, I will remain faithful. Oh that my ways may be steadfast! Fix my eyes on the cross.

Luk 10:41-42 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things,
but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Like a child at your feet, may I seek that which is greatest, not being anxious about all the troubles of life, all the many things and details I could worry about, but which ultimately are in your hands. Though I am faithless, you are faithful.


What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

Rom 8:32 He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?

Rom 8:33 Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.

Rom 8:34 Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died–more than that, who was raised–who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us.

Rom 8:35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?

Rom 8:36 As it is written, “For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”

Rom 8:37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

Rom 8:38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,

Rom 8:39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Jesus did it all. All to him I owe. I will be forever at peace, welling with joy and sweet harnessed passion because of your blood. I will behold the face of God, and am already called his son, a co-heir with Christ. Oh, reveal to me the truth of this! I want to have eyes opened even more! I don’t want to walk through life lukewarm! I want to be exuding a joy that is unmatched by joy in any other thing!

There is no area of my life that is not effected by this truth, specifically applied in any certain way. Every aspect of the Gospel is powerful. Every piece is atomic. It will have a huge impact on life, and make it so much happier than mere piety, or even than flagrant partying. Life lived in light of the Gospel has no shortcomings, cause it is under the canopy of truth, unsusceptible to rains of hopelessness or bitter fear. It is a perfect life. All imperfections in our life can be attributed to a lack of focus on the truth, a stumbling on our parts as far as gospel focus goes. But God is faithful to us even as we are faithless.

 

